Final Fantasy Terms Guide

Latest posts by Bryan Hughes (see all)

The Final Fantasy(FF) Franchise is one of the most established and widespread in gaming history. From 1987 until today it continues to put out mainstream and beloved niche content.

In this Final Fantasy terms guide, I’ve compiled a list of words from A-Z of common terminology here for your reading pleasure.


  • Adamant- This material is considered one of the hardest and is often found from a turtle monster of a similar name.
  • Aeons- Another word for Summons.
  • Airship- Modeled like a ship, these fly through the sky. A staple in one way or another from the very first FF game.
  • ATB- The Active Time Battle system that determines the order of attacks first introduced in FFIV.


  • Bahamut- Considered in many games as one of the most powerful and King of the Summons.
  • Behemoth- A recurring large, usually purple with horns and a dragon-like head monster in the franchise.
  • Blitzball- The sports game playable and pivotal to the FFX original game.
  • Bomb- A recurring monster that floats and gets larger as it’s struck, exploding if you don’t kill it quickly enough.


  • Cactuar A beloved, cute, skittish, recurring green cactus monster that uses the attack 1000 needles.
  • Chaos- Sometimes represented in the franchise as an unseen force, it is the original final boss of the very first FF game.
  • Chocobo- The large yellow bird, often the mascot of the series, is both a monster and a mount throughout the franchise.
  • Cid- A recurring NPC and sometimes playable character in the franchise. Usually an engineer of some sort.



  • Desperation Attack- The first iteration of the Limit Break technique.
  • Dissidia Used to reference the Fighting games of the franchise.
  • DMW- Digital Mind Wave. This is the Limit Break system in Crisis Core.


  • Eidolon- This is one of the more common names used to describe the Summons in the FF franchise.
  • Eos- This is the world FFXV takes place in.
  • Esper- Another word used for summons.
  • Ether- In the FF world, this is an item used to replenish MP.


  • Fabula Nova Crystallis- This a mythos in the FF franchise used to connect the themes and make a relatable history for multiple FF titles. It is the basis for FFXIII and its sequels, FF Type-0, and its sequels, and to a lesser extent FFXV. I
  • Final Fantasy 1- Released in 1987 on the NES. The game that started it all.
  • Final Fantasy 2- The only game in the series that does not use experience for leveling. Introduced the Chocobo.
  • Final Fantasy III up to VIII All of these titles were traditional JRPG’s and came out in the 1990s.
  • Final Fantasy Tactics- The First Title of the series to be a Tactical RPG, released in 1997.
  • Final Fantasy IX to X2- The last of the traditional JRPG style of Final Fantasy games in the franchise.
  • Final Fantasy XI & XIV The only MMORPG titles in the franchise.
  • Final Fantasy XII- The first solo title in the franchise that switched to the Action RPG game style of play.
  • Final Fantasy VII Compilation- This refers to the larger world of games, films, and manga related to the original FFVII game. Arguably the most popular title to ever be released by the franchise.


  • GF- Guardian Force. The term for Summons in FFVIII
  • Gil- The money used for purchases in the FF franchise.
  • Gilgamesh- A recurring character, sometimes as a monster, boss or even a summon in the series.


  • HP- Hit Points. This is used to determine the life of a character in-game.


  • Ifrit- A beastlike, fire-type summon seen consistently throughout the franchise.
  • Iron Giant- A recurring giant, dark-skinned sometimes metal monster with a large sword.
  • Ivalice- A world used as the backdrop for multiple stories in the franchise. Similar to that of Europe in real life.


  • Job System- This is the system used in quite a few games in the franchise to select the class/job of a character.
  • JRPG- Japanese Role Playing Game. This refers to the turn-based battle and world exploring game style originally developed in Japan.


  • Kupo Nut- The favorite food of Moogles.


  • Leviathan- A recurring water-type summon, the great serpent, master of the sea.
  • Lifestream- It is a reference to the lifeblood or soul of the world. In some cases where the spirit goes after passing.
  • Limit Break- When a character’s Limit Gauge fills up, usually by taking damage, they will gain access to a rare more powerful attack or ability that is unique to them.


  • Malboro A recurring giant green mass with a huge mouth of a monster that causes multiple status ailments.
  • Materia- Attachable to equipment to gain new skills, abilities, upgrade stats or use new magic.
  • Moogle/Mog- A cute, short, pink creature with a pom on its head that can be seen throughout the series.
  • MP- Magic Points. Used to cast magic or use certain skills in the franchise.
  • Mythril- A unique metal usually for middle-of-the-road armor or weapons.


  • NPC- A common acronym for non-playable characters.


  • Odin- A summon consistent in the series, modeled after Norse Mythology, often causing instant death.
  • Overdrive- Another type of Limit Break.


  • Potions- These items come in various degrees and heal HP in combat.


  • Quests- These move the story forward or grant unique items, money, or skills upon completion.


  • Ramuh- A lightning-type summon that takes the form of an old man.
  • Remedy- An item that cures all status ailments.
  • Ribbon- A recurring accessory that prevents a character from being afflicted with most status ailments.



  • Shinra- The evil corporation that turns the lifestream into energy in all titles related to the FFVII game.
  • Shiva- Arguably the most recognizable Summon of the franchise, the Ice Queen, modeled loosely off the Hindu deity.
  • Synthesis- This refers to combining items or equipment to make a more advanced version.


  • Tents- This is an item used at a save point or on a world map healing the entire party.
  • Tonberry A recurring and popular small green monster in a robe that carries a deadly knife, and will probably stab you. 


  • Ultimate Weapon- Most of the franchise has ultimate weapons for each of its playable characters that can be acquired through difficult side-quests and/or mini-games.


  • Valefor- A summon introduced in FFX, a beautiful bird-like dragon. Faithful companion to Yuna.
  • Void-  A destructive power of unknown origin used to drive the villain’s plot in FFV, and returning later in the franchise.


  • Wedge & Biggs- Comic relief NPC’s inspired by the earlier creators’ love for the Star Wars franchise.


  • X-Potion- This particular potion will heal all your HP upon use.


  • Yarhi- Refers to Espers or Summons.


  • Zodiac Brave- This refers to an Ivalice mythos that a warrior can possess the powers of all the Zodiac Stones.
  • Zodiac Stones- These possess the power to either do great good or unleash a demon connected to the real-world Zodiac symbol of the stone.

Though Final Fantasy games are often stand-alone, you can see many of them are connected through similar mythos or recurring themes. Please enjoy the rest of the site for more detailed info and tips to help you enjoy the imaginative franchise that is Final Fantasy.

Scroll to Top